The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

How the #?$! do I use this thing?

Leave a comment

Hey friends.  As I mentioned in my last post, I got a new rig for my camera.  In theory, this rig will allow me to mount my camera with the lens facing straight down so that I can take overhead still life shots.  But I gotta say, this thing looks kind of intimidating.  I mean, the more I look, it appears more like some type of “information gathering” device they might use at Gitmo.  Not that I have any first hand knowledge about that!  But seriously? Look at it!

SONY DSC

Where is Sir Laurence Olivier when you need him?  Is it safe?  I.  Don’t.  Know.

But as I think I have said in earlier posts, we don’t learn anything by not trying.  Time to leave the “safe” zone.

Turns out this thing is fairly easy to use, once you know which knob does what.  And really, doesn’t that answer most of life’s burning questions?  Knowing which knob does what?  But I digress…

I was having a bit o’ trouble coming up with subject material.  When in doubt…hit the art supplies cabinet!  I found a box of colored pencils.  And they were mostly sharpened and everything!  I guess I haven’t used them lately…or at all.  I took a few pics.  They look a bit blurry to me, but you will get the idea.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

From the art supplies cabinet, I moved to the next logical location, the kitchen!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

I don’t know if I can taste the freshness…but I can definitely sense the sugar coma.  Speaking of that, today we received a treat from our friend.  I don’t know if means anything that she gave us each one for free, but I think the name says it all.

SONY DSC

To all my friends that are parents, a word of caution.  If the Easter Bunny leaves one of these in your kid’s Easter Basket…Be afraid.  Be very afraid. 🙂

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

