The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

Where to go….where to go.

Leave a comment

At the end of The Wizard of Oz, Dorothy says to Auntie Em and Uncle Henry  “If I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own backyard.”  I like this quote because it suggests living in the moment and having a certain appreciation for what you have and not what you don’t.  I decided to apply that thought as inspiration for this week’s photo walk.  I actually went a little further than my own yard, but I kept pretty close to home.  After all, there’s no place like it!

I live in the town of West Chester, PA.  It is the county seat of Chester County, which basically means we have a lot of government peeps and many, many lawyers.  It is also home to West Chester University.  Soooo, we got a bunch of lawyers and a bunch of college kids.  Sounds like a winner combo to me!  Did I mention we have lawyers?

It’s really a great place to live.  There are lots of restaurants, cute shops, and of course, there is a Starbucks.

Taking pics in a town setting is very different than in a garden or park setting.  I know that must seem, obvious?  The challenge for me is that I like to keep my pictures simple.  If you look at my other work, they have a very defined subject,  If there is only one flower in the picture, it’s not hard to figure out what I want you to look at.  When you are in more of an urban setting, there is a lot of stuff around.  The trick is to figure out how to compose the picture, not to mention the mechanics of getting the exposure right.  I mean, how do you narrow down all this?

And this is already narrowed down!  What I started to do was look for unusual items that I could photograph like I photograph the flowers.  Things like parking meters, street signs and fence posts.

I don’t know, but I feel like this glove is on the verge of an obscene gesture.  It was a little early on a Sunday.  Maybe it hadn’t had it’s coffee yet.

So I saved the best for last.  This is a close up of the side of a phone booth.

It’s unfortunate that it’s a bit blurry because it is far and away the best subject I found for the day…aside from what I have planned for Wednesday’s post.  But you’ll have to check back for that!

You know what else you can find occasionally in urban settings?  FLOWERS!

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

