The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

It’s not always so color. Sometimes it’s black and white!

Leave a comment

This week, for the first time ev-er, there will be several black and white photos included on Featured Foto Friday. It’s exciting isn’t it? It’s so cool to part of history…even if it’s just your blog’s history….maybe it’s just exciting for me.

I imagine many of you are wondering “How do you decide if a picture should be black and white?” Exxxccelllent question. The answer is….I don’t know. There are definitely a series of steps that I go thru after I import pictures from my camera into Adobe Lightroom or Photoshop.  What seems to happen is that I find that I like the subject, but not the colors.  Here is a pic of my cat Cooper taken when he was a kitten.

I actually love this pic just the way it is.  He’s such a cuuutie!  But, what I noticed is that there is a great contrast of texture between Cooper’s fur and the white towel, but you have to really look for it.  I also thought it might be more universally appealing to other cat owners if it wasn’t so specific in color.  Here is the same pic in black and white.

If you click on the picture to get a better look, the difference will be easier to see.  I found that I looked at Cooper’s face more now than when he’s orange.  Somehow, his features become more prominent.  I also think the towel looks whiter which draws your eyes to his face.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  This is all personal preference stuff.  After all, sometimes one does want a hint of color!

 Nathan Lane in The Birdcage

So true, Nathan.  Oh so true.  For instance, a trick that you sometimes see is having one item in color while the rest of the pic is black and white.  Someday, I will do a write up on how to do that.  Here is an example of how that looks.

Here is the same pic in full color.

There is so much green in this pic that it took away from the origami crane.  But if the pic was just black and white, the crane wouldn’t stand out either.  Sometimes, you can manipulate the scene while you are taking the picture.  For example, if this had been my Christmas Tree, I would have removed the other green ornament.  Unfortunately, this tree belonged to Longwood Gardens.  They are not really into you manipulating the scene so much.  It’s more of a “Hands Off!  This Means You!” policy.  That’s ok.  I think it turned out just fine.

You may have noticed some format changes to this blog.  I am experimenting with different themes, trying to find the best one for my “look”.  It has not been easy.  If you have any feedback about these changes, feel free to post!  Would love to know what you think.

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

