The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

Who’s the geek with the tripod? Oh, it’s me.

Leave a comment

Video clip from Sixteen Candles

There are many, many reasons I love this scene, but I have a new-found appreciation for it now that I am a total camera geek.

For example:

1)  While I question in general the use of a Polaroid camera at night because there is no way to adjust the aperture or the shutter speed to allow enough light in for a good exposure, I do understand why they need the tripod.  It is the only way possible not to have a complete blurry mess, assuming they can get enough light using the flash. I TOLD you I was a camera geek.  It’s not as if you weren’t WARNED.

2)  Did you notice how angry Farmer Ted is getting because of how long John Cusack and….and…and the other guy are taking to set up and get the shot?  It’s funny because it’s true!  If you have never used a tripod, you will just have to trust me.  Tripods, especially old school tripods like mine will slow down a photo shoot to a screeching halt.  AND if you only have two hours planned, tripod set up starts to eat away at your precious time very quickly.  I am grateful that I have a tripod at all, but watching me use it might be funnier than a John Hughes movie.  You know the scene in Sixteen Candles with Joan Cusack and the water fountain?  She is a vision of grace and poise compared to me using my tripod.  How’s that for a visual?  Not good enough?  Here ya go!

Joan Cusack in Sixteen Candles

Soooo, now I am on the hunt for an easy to use tripod.  Seriously, I am looking for feedback.  If any of you have any good or bad experiences with a tripod, I want to hear from you!  I think a trip to New York is in my future to visit the B&H Super Store and give some a test drive, but I think this is a case of too much information is not enough.

Ideally, I am looking for a carbon fiber, quick release ball head, multi angle leg, light weight compact unit.  Maybe with a bubble level and throw in a turbo charge! [Insert Tim Allen grunt sound here]

 Tim Allen

I’m so glad I did this post in black and white.  It just captured the moment so nicely.

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

