The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

It’s a Summer Photo Project Extravaganza!

Leave a comment

Hey all!  As you may know, I am a bit of a photo nut.  This spring, I finally took an introduction class to learn more about my Digital SLR camera.  It was everything I thought it could be..and a bag of chips 🙂

Now that I have successfully left the auto modes behind and am almost exclusively using aperture and shutter priority, it is important that I find as many places to take pictures as possible so that I may improve my skills.

With that in mind, and the fact that the economy stinks, I have been searching for places that are free or at least mostly free.  Here is my destination for today:

 Photo from Appleford Website

http://applefordestate.com/

This is a photo of Appleford Estate/Parsons Banks Arboretum, located in Villanova, PA.  I found this thru a search of public gardens.  This stone farmhouse has been in existence for about 300 years.  Not too shabby eh?  On the website, under “News”, there is mention that this was the location for the film shoot of “The Philadelphia Story”.  Unfortunately for me, they were referring to a story done for Philadelphia Style magazine and not the classic movie starring Katherine Hepburn and Cary Grant.  I guess that kills my idea of running around the house yelling “C.K. Dexter Haven!”

 Photo from the film “The Philadelphia Story”

Since I don’t like to show up at places when they are closed, I searched the website extensively for the hours of operation.  They are at best, vague.  So, I searched other websites and found this on http://www.mainlinevideoguide.com/appleford.html:

“The Parsons-Banks Arboretum and Bird Sanctuary is open to the public from dusk to dawn 365 days a year”

I added the bold and underline.  Dusk to dawn?  Well, if I can’t run around yelling for Cary Grant, perhaps there is another movie star in my future?

Photo from the film “Dusk till Dawn”

Coincidence?  You be the judge!

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

