The Door is a Jar

Dedicated to seeing the lighter and slightly skewed side of life

Was that the Aztecs, the Incas or the Mayans?

Leave a comment

Q:  Which one predicted the world will end on 12/21/2012?
A: None.

Q:  What do you mean, None?
A:  Just what I said.  Do you have another question?

Q:  Wait a minute, if none of them did, then why does the mainstream media keep talking about it all the time?
A:  That is an excellent question for which I do not have an answer.  Anything else you would like to know?  How about which one built Machu Picchu?

Q:  I am so confused.  Seriously, there were movies made, History Channel specials, etc.  I’m pretty sure they said the Mayans.
A:  Ugh.  The Mayans did not predict the end of the world.  What they did do is develop a complex calendar system that included such items as “The Long Count”, “The Sacred Round”, and “The Vague Year” In fact, if you combine “The Sacred Round” and “the Vague Year” it creates “The Calendar Round” in which a date does not repeat for 52 years.  It’s really quite fascinating because

Q:  What on earth are you talking about?!?  I definitely remember seeing on TV that the Mayan Calendar ends on 12/21/2012.
A:  It does not end.  That date marks the end of the 13th b’ak’tun.  The 14th b’ak’tun simply starts the next day.  Sort of a Y2K thing.  You know, we’re gonna party like its 1999 or 13.0.0.0.0, same idea.  Good thing our computers aren’t based on the Mayan Long Count, huh 🙂

Q:  So we are not gonna die on 12/21/2012?
A:  Well, I can’t really answer that.  What I can tell you is that the Mayans did not predict it.  But anything is possible I suppose, Nuclear Armageddon, an asteroid could hit the planet, the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse

Q:  Ok, enough.
A:  Do you have any more questions?

Q:  No.
A:  Why not?  I’m here to answer.

Q:  No you’re not.  You are here to confuse.
A:  How do you mean?

Q:  I asked you which ancient civilization predicted the end of the world on 12/21/2012 and it took you five answers to really explain yourself.  It would  have been nice if you would have given a more complete answer to the first question instead of being all condescending and “know it all” about it.
A:  Condescending and “Know It All”?!?  Good person, do you have any idea the amount of time and research I have spent on the glorious civilization of the Mayans?  Do you?  DO YOU?!?

Q:  Let me guess, you looked it up on Wikipedia.
A:  …..How did you know?

Author: Jen Mayer

Hey all! This is the spot where I get to tell you about myself. Can I tell you how incredibly awkward that is? I mean who are we really? It's really a question for the ages. But, if I must answer, I am a photography junkie, wannabe writer, wife with a full time job. On the side, I like to think that my cooking is above average and that I could probably hold my own on the TV Show "Chopped", although I probably couldn't. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

